Established by Swasti Foundation
(A Charitable Trust Devoted to the Cause of Education and Development of Bihar) [Camp Office: Village Shahmoura, P.O. Shahpur Bazar, Saharsa , PIN: 852129, Bihar]
Last date to receive submissions/nominations for Samman 2005: Dec 31, 2004

With a view to encouraging scholars and writers of Mithila and Maithili who are engaged in enriching the language and literature by way of publishing original or translated creative or critical work of impeccable standards, Swasti Foundation, Delhi/Saharsa ( has instituted an award under which one prize of the value of Rs. 1,00,000/- (Rupees One Lakh only) will be awarded every year to an individual for both a particular work as well as for his/her life-time contribution to the cause of Maithili. Swasti Foundation, a charitable trust, devoted to the cause of education and development of Bihar in general, and Mithila in particular, today announced the institution of Prabodh Sahitya Samman. The award has been instituted in honor of the octogenarian author, poet, translator and editor in Maithili Dr. Prabodh Narayan Singh, formerly of the Department of Hindi, University of Calcutta, and a doyen of the Maithili language movement during the last 55 years. It goes without saying that thanks to the efforts of such self-less scholars and individuals that Maithili has been included in the 8th Schedule of the Indian Constitution in December 2003.

The Samman envisages a cash award of Rupees One Lakh and a citation describing the contribution of the awardee to enrichment of Maithili language and literature. A jury comprising eminent litterateurs of Maithili will select the awardees. (See:

To be eligible for the award, the work (ideally not less than 48 pages of standard size) should have been published after 1950. Books, which have already received any other award, are also eligible for this Samman. However, textbooks, literacy books, teaching material, and technological/scientific books are outside the purview of this award. All nominations along with a copy of the book may be sent to either of the following Jury members of the Awards Committee: (i) Mr. Pramod Kumar Jha 101, Anand Palace, Near Alpana Market, New Pataliputra Colony, Patna 800013, or to (ii) Mr. Ramlochan Thakur, KC-88, Salt Lake, Kolkata 700 091. Those who wish to make electronic recommendations/submissions may send the book to the above and click on to All nominations and recommendations for Samman 2005 must reach on or before 31st December, 2004.

Prof. Abhay Narayan Singh; Managing Trustee, Swasti Foundfation Saharsa; Dated Oct 31,2004

Copyright 2004-06, All Rights Reserved, || Website developed and hosted by World IT Lab